Musical Merriment for the Festive Season

So December tends to be a super-de-duperly busy time for everyone, and there are a few things in the pipeline that I’d like to share!

First of all, my jazz duo (well, jazz trio in this case) Calliopa are delighted to be hosting a night of festive fun in the cosy setting of Alice’s Restaurant on the 18th of December. We’ll be playing a host of our favourite jazz songs, including some seasonal favourites, and there’ll be free tea and cake for everyone. What more could you want of a winter evening? Festive attire and hearty singing along will be optional but very much encouraged! The event is also supporting Naas Food Bank, so please bring along a non-perishable item if you can :)

Other gigs include…

Sun 20th: Mary & Max’s Christmas Mid-Riff @ The Cobblestone, Dublin – I’ll be playing a couple of songs including one or two of my personal favourite Christmas numbers, accompanied by the wonderful Max Greenwood and Mary Barnecutt (the lovely lady you may have heard celloing all over my last EP).

Mon 21st: The Lazy Band @ Arthur’s Dublin – The Gospel Project, of which I am a happily standing member, will be doing a special guest slot at this gig. We don’t get to play public gigs very often so this will be nice. Real nice.

Tues 22nd: Evertides Christmas @ Whelan’s, Dublin  – another opportunity for me to sing songs with a bunch of finely talented musicians! Expect many silky harmonies.

In other news, the Past Times Community Choir are having an open rehearsal in McAuley Place on the 15th of December. We’ve just had a roaringly successful performance at the Dementia Elevate Awards in DCU and are on a bit of a high, so we’re looking forward to having members of the local community come in and join us for a sing-a-long! I can honestly say that my involvement with this choir has been one of the highlights of my year.

And that just about covers it. Stay warm and safe this festive season* and maybe we’ll meet somewhere amidst the madness!


*By that I don’t mean cower in your home. Wrap up warm and get out into that wind. it’d make ye feel alive!

 

